Loading Events

« All Events

The Pearly Shells XMAS Show with special guests!

Friday, December 22, 2023 @ 8:00 pm

Doors open at 7:30 pm

pearly shells with yvette johansson


The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
General Admission -PS221223
$ 45.00
Concession -PS221223
Available (and proof must be shown upon entry) for valid holders of the following cards: Australian Seniors, Australian Government Concession or Health Care, Veterans Victoria, University or TAFE Student or Educator, Music Victoria member, Melbourne Jazz Co-Op member, PBS FM or 3RRR member, anyone under the age of 18
$ 35.00
$35.00 – $45.00

The Pearly Shells big band celebrate Xmas in the usual fashion with Jazz divas and Hula Hoops!

Special guests include swing Queen Julie O’Hara, modern day Vaudevillian Hayley Hoopla, Chanteuse extraordinaire Yvette Johansson, and many more.

Playing hard swinging big band music with a dusting of Christmas songs, dance floor provided.

Formed around the turn of the century by double bassist Steve Purcell as a Count Basie style dance band, The Pearly Shells Swing Orchestra has evolved over more than 15 years to become a unique Melbourne musical institution with an enormous repertoire of original charts and ties through out Melbourne’s musical universe.

The Pearly Shells mix their own arrangements of 40’s and 50’s big band music with Jump Blues, Swing Jazz, RnB, Boogie Woogie and Latin styles and play it all with the drive and enthusiasm the music demands and deserves.

The programme will include music by Ellington, Basie ,Goodman, Ray Charles, Louie Jordan, Billy Holiday, Ella Johnson, Xavier Cugat as well as Pearly’s songs from their 7 studio albums.

The Pearly Shells are (with occasional variation, depending on the night):
David Allardice – piano
Monty Price – guitar
Steve Purcell – double bass
Dean Hilson – tenor sax
Rob Glaesemann – tenor sax
Aaron Searle – baritone sax
Paul Coyle – trumpet
Wes Mowson – trombone
Eamon McNelis – trumpet
Gavin Gray – drums


27 Leslie St
+ Google Map